3rd March 2015. The day after

Well here I am,the day after my procedure.
I drank all the prep. It was revolting but after some tips from the web,I did ok. The main tips were,make the liquid really cold and have a lolly (candy) nearly to suck on between drinks.
We arrived at the hospital at 6.35am. The ward opened at 7am. They took our details and we waited.
About 9am they took me into another room and put in a cannula. I also put on one of those very sexy robes.
A bit later it was taken into the theatre,they got me to lie on my side and put 2 oxygen masks on me,don’t know why. The anaesthetist put a needle into the cannula and told me I might feel dizzy. The next thing I knew I was in recovery with a huge tube thing still in my mouth. They pulled that out for me and told me where I was.
I eventually sat up and they brought me something to eat. Rice crackers,butter and jam,yoghurt and juice. I ate it all.

Later one of the doctors came to see me to tell me that they hadn’t been able to do the procedure properly as my colon hadn’t been emptied and that I would need to come back on 1-3 months to have it done again with some different prep.
I got dressed and went out to hubby in the waiting room. I felt a bit spacey but ok. We walked to the car and drove home. This was about noon.
I got straight into bed as I wanted to go to sleep. This was not happening though. I went into shock and started shaking and I was freezing cold. I got hubby to get me some blankets and a heat bag. I eventually went to sleep but only after about an hour of full on body shakes and some painkillers.
The girls came home from school and came in for a chat.
I slept again until about 9pm. I got up and have a cup of tea and promptly vomited straight back up.
I went back to bed.
I got up about 1am for some pain killers and slept again until 11am.
I had some toast and jam(jelly) and a glass of water for breakfast.
I’m still pretty sore. I think they must have moved my hips around a bit trying to get the camera in.

The report for the upper GI endoscopy:
Hiatus hernia. Biopsied.
Multiple gastric polyps. Gastric plyorus and antral biopsy taken

Report for colonoscopy:
Preparation of colon was unsatisfactory.
One cm polyp in the ascending colon
No specimens taken.

One thought on “3rd March 2015. The day after

Leave a Reply

