Yesterday

Yesterday was a difficult day. Miss Lizzie and I attended a funeral.
The mother of one of her friends had tragically passed away.

It was an eye opener for both of us. Miss Lizzie cried from start to finish.
Me….I sobbed……I tried to quell the tears but I couldn’t. About 20 minutes in,I gave up and just let the tears flow.

To me it was so real. A mother taken before her time.
A grieving daughter left behind. So many reminders,so many things the same.

The service was lovely,filled with wonderful memories and music. I so wish my mothers funeral had been more like that. I barely remember any of it but I know it was sterile and cold and my only concern was the flowers,on top of the coffin,that were the wrong colour.

I was so proud of my girl,how she supported her friends,held them close,listened and cried with them.

After the service as we were walking to the car,Miss Lizzie asked me to stop and she hugged me hard,telling me how much she loved me and how she never wanted me to die like that and that she wanted me to know how very much she does love me.

I have often had doubts about my reason for being on this earth but now I don’t. I now know my job is to guide and support these precious girls. I hope I don’t have to leave them early as my mother did.

One thought on “Yesterday

Leave a Reply

