Glub,glub,glub…….

You know that scene in Overboard when Goldie Hawn has lost the plot and is sitting in the corner going glub,glub,glub?

Well that’s me.

Since Tuesday there have been 4 doctors visits,an accident,a CT scan,4 different doctors ,a change in antibiotics,a visit from the Ambulance,so many drives back and forth I have lost count,
stress,chest pains,tears,anger and much,much more.

Firstly Miss Mary was suffering from bronchitis and pneumonia,she was put on antibiotics.that was Tuesday ……I think. I kept her home all week.

Then DH came home on Wednesday sporting some open wounds and many bruises after coming off his motorbike in the supermarkets underground car park in torrential rain

He refused all suggestions of hospital or doctors or painkillers or any idea of NOT going to work on Thursday. This thrilled me immensely as you can imagine.

By Thursday morning after a night of pain and having to use my walking stick to get around,he relented and agreed to see a doctor. I made an appointment for him for 1.30pm

About 11am ,the phone rang and and it was the school telling me that Miss Lizzie was unwell and could I come and collect her? The school is a 25 min drive away and I had to do some quick calculations to work out if I could pick her up and be back in time to take DH to the doctors. I said I could and set off. Upon my arrival I found an ambulance in the schools driveway and thought someone must have hurt themselves.
I was shown into the small room near the office where I found Miss Lizzie flat on the floor,with 2 ambulance officers in attendance. My face must have dropped,as I found myself ushered into a chair pretty swiftly. Seems Miss Lizzie had had severe pain of the girlie kind and had collapsed. She was hot and sweaty and had tingling in her fingers. Pain relief was administered and she seemed to stabilise pretty quickly. I got her into the car and was driving home,wondering how on earth I was going to manage 2 sick girls,one who probably shouldn’t be left at home with only a 13 yr old for supervision ( in case she started to hemorrhage )and get DH to the doctors as he couldn’t drive himself.

I decided to eat humble pie and ask for help..something I rarely do. I asked a friend to help out. They arrived at home just as we did. I put Miss Lizzie to bed and took DH to the doctors. They ordered a CT scan which needed to be done 30 mins drive away(the joys of living in the country!)

Miss Annie arrived home from school and promptly burst into tears as she had only got bits and pieces of what was happening via texts

We got DH an appt at 5pm for his scan. My friends lovely hubby offered to take him. The scan was done but the report wasn’t available til 3pm the following day.

I discovered we had NO chocolate and I may have had a small meltdown. The girls rallied and found me some chocolate bits for cooking in the pantry……anything will do in a crisis.

I decided to have a family metal health day and kept everyone home from school ( it was the last day of term)

I was so stressed I was getting chest pains,mimicking a heart attack which my body tends to do when I am under severe stress.

Miss Mary woke up on Friday rather unwell,so I had to take her back to the doctor for a change of medication. We didn’t get the scan results until 6.30pm so we couldn’t go to the doctors on Friday

We made an appointment at the doctors on Saturday for 2.30pm. We arrived a few minutes early..we waited over 90 minutes to be seen. It was a doctor we hadn’t seen before. She wasn’t at all interested in helping DH with a prognosis. She was more interested “in building us a case” to use to sue the supermarket. WTF?? She refused to give DH a certificate for his work or listen to his chest as he has been coughing for weeks. She told him to make an appointment with a MALE doctor on Monday. We were extremely pissed and the girls were sending many texts wondering where on earth we were.

DH now has yet ANOTHER appt with a doctor on Monday.

DH is NOT a good patient. I love him dearly but there have been more than a few occasions over the last few days where I could have cheerfully beaten him…….to a pulp……with a brick.

We have all been stuck at home,except for the bloody doctors visits and it has been pouring the whole damn time so I packed everyone up and I took us all to a small shopping centre about 25 mins drive away.

It was needed badly for everyone’s mental health.

I think I need a holiday………alone

2 thoughts on “Glub,glub,glub…….

  1. Oh no, what a terribly awful week. It must mean that you are going to have a good week now. I think chocolate is a good thing and well done to the children for finding it.

Leave a Reply

